Large outdoor RGB displays - FPGA or other micro used??

Anything about FPGA boards, like how to assemble SMD components, find low-voltage regulators, FPGA configuration...

Large outdoor RGB displays - FPGA or other micro used??

Postby gilmoret » Wed Feb 04, 2009 1:23 pm

I am an electrical engineer and I know almost nothing about FPGAs and pretty much C programming in general other than what was told to me in college 10+ years back. However, I have spent the last 3-4 years designing mainly smaller (e.g. 8x8 to 64x64) LED Displays and other projects with Parallax micro-controllers such as the Basic Stamp 2 (BS2) using its PBASIC language, and SX28 and SX48 micro-controllers using the SX/B language (BASIC like).

I recently got some AVR based micro-controllers - Arduino Duemilanove and a Sanguino to experiment with and learn to use. I have gotten them to work with a few of the example programs so I know the beginers basics.

I was hopeing to use these Arduino's for LED Matrix displays for very large industrial sized indoor/outdoor (possibly RGB with PWM) displays.

However, I don't think any of these have the horsepower or language capability with PWM control for SPI that I would need for this project.

I am looking at an FPGA approach to see if this project has to be done with FPGAs or can micro-controllers fit the bill.

I'm questioning if these Arduino boards and Parallax SX chips can handle what is needed for controlling large displays or do I need to go with an FPGA design. Has anyone done this before with success? I am also looking at using a MikroElectronika BigAVR2 board with their BASIC with an ATmega2560 if the Arduino doesn't have the horsepower for this.

The Parallax SX chips have the speed at up to 50 MHz or possibly 75 MHz but was lacking the correct PWM for these a display of this magnitude. The displays I have are SPI based with PWM of which nothing had been done with Parallax chips using both SPI and PWM from what I could find.