Seeking advice for educational audio FPGA project

FPGA projects on this site, or abroad

Seeking advice for educational audio FPGA project

Postby bcosta » Wed Jan 21, 2009 11:24 pm

Hi everyone,

I want to develop a small FPGA based project in an effort to learn more about FPGA's and to get some extra experience in hardware design and development. I completed a Bachelor of Computer Engineering four years ago and so have some background in digital hardware engineering (though not using FPGA's), however I have been working mostly in desktop software development since university and so want to brush up on my hardware based skills.

The project is something I am going to call an “EDrum Buddy”. I own a set of electric drums and I want to make this device to perform some useful functions to help me out. I decided on this because I think I can start off creating a really simple project and then slowly add more complex components to the design as I go.

The first step for now is simply to create a digital mixer:
4x analogue inputs (2x stereo inputs) with independent volume controls to 2x analogue outputs (1x stereo) with volume control (and supporting a low impedance load such as headphones). This is so I can mix the sound from the electric drum kit and say a MP3 player together and listen to them through head-phones.

Following the first step, I have thoughts on many useful features I can add to this device with differing complexities (obviously adding additional hardware as necessary):
* Metronome
* Audio processing effects (E.g. Reverb)
* Beat monitor (Attempts to guess the BPM you are playing at)
* Built-in guitar tuner
* Internal MP3 player

I would start with a basic platform:
* 4x ADC's, 2x DAC's
* FPGA
* 3x Seven segment LED displays
* 3x Input buttons for select, up, down (Volume, line selection, metronome configuration)
* Other support hardware (Power supply, FPGA configuration, required amplifiers)