Frame Grabber using FPGA thru webcam

FPGA projects on this site, or abroad

Frame Grabber using FPGA thru webcam

Postby simyunyoung » Mon Dec 17, 2007 2:09 pm

Hello,

I'm a student doing a project on implementing optical flow algorithm into FPGA.
Basically, i would like to mount a camera ( preferably webcam coz its cheap) onto a FPGA( my college currently has up2 and up3 @ltera education board) and it do some image/video processing in FPGA and display in an LCD or CRT monitor.

As for my part, I'm doing the input part. That is getting the data(image frames) ready for calculation in the FPGA. the Frame Grabber should grab image frames from the camera and converts it into gray-scale and saves it in Matrix form or what ever meaningful form. It's quite a challenging project Very Happy so, I need all the advise/help that all I can get.

From what I read throughout the forum. Is true that is the least practical to use a USB device on FPGA? The up3 board that I'm using has USB port, so I was thinking of just using my cheap webcam that I've already own. What do I need to prepare if I decide to use the USB webcam? I found out that there's a USB port in up3 board and there is ip-core on USB in opencore.org. What other better alternatives do you guys suggest? and what other advises would give regarding my project on the Frame grabber.

Thank you for your precious time on reading this.

Regards,

Sim
simyunyoung

Postby Kristallo » Mon Dec 17, 2007 2:22 pm

Check if your camera has an open source driver that is easy to understand. If not then you buy a cheap camera with connection details from sparkfun.com or some other place.

If you have to ask questions on this forum you are never going to be able to reverse engineer some random USB protocol.
Kristallo

Postby simyunyoung » Mon Dec 17, 2007 3:41 pm

The webcam that I'm using is Logitech Quickcam Express, Product ID:0x046d vendor id:0x0928 sensor:embedded. It streams gbrg format.