Help with connecting a pushbutton

Anything about FPGA boards, like how to assemble SMD components, find low-voltage regulators, FPGA configuration...

Help with connecting a pushbutton

Postby itx » Sat Nov 21, 2009 3:15 pm

Hello there.
Im very new to fpgas, and overall this type of thing, and i seem to have run into a problem.

The idea is simple-just to connect a pushbutton, but i can't seem to work with it. This is how i connected it

and this is the code that i use

Code: Select all
module button(clk,PB, LED1,LED2);

input clk;
input PB; 

output LED1;
output LED2;

reg r1, r2;
always @(posedge clk) begin
  r1 <= PB;
  r2 <= r1;
end
assign LED1 = r2;
assign LED2 = ~r2;

endmodule

(found part or it somewhere in the forum)
One LED is always on, and nothing else happens whether i push the button or not.

What am i doing wrong?
itx

Postby vlado » Mon Nov 23, 2009 7:11 pm

Why you don't use only one signal to assign?
Moreover, pushbutton will produce many glitches, so you must use digital filter and/or capacitor, to reduce them. Put capacitor parallel to button.
vlado

Postby itx » Tue Nov 24, 2009 12:11 pm

Hey,
thanks for the reply.
What do you mean by
Why you don't use only one signal to assign?

If this is what you're talking about, then i do not know. I've seen it several times tho.. Perhaps somebody could explain.
  r1 <= PB;
  r2 <= r1;

As for the pushbutton, I know that it will produce gliches. I need a debouncer for that, or a hardware solution( like a cap. that you mentioned). This was purely for testing if the fpga gets any signals from the button, which it didn't.

Anyway I have solved the button problem, stupid me for not paying enough attention to the manual and not selecting the right pins.
itx

Postby itx » Sat Nov 28, 2009 2:07 pm

Well, that works too. thanks

Next question:
How do I connect two pushbuttons?